Image Map

Level 6 International Diploma in occupational safety and health


The Level 6 qualifications in Occupational Health and Safety are developed to provide learners who have or are looking to develop into a senior role in an organization for managing health and safety policy and practice. Learners will gain the skills and knowledge to understand the legal and regulatory background to occupational health and safety policy, to be able to assess policies, as well as recommend and implement policy changes. Learners will develop knowledge and skills relevant to putting policy into practice, utilizing management systems, resources, risk and incident management, leadership, management and skills development.

Individuals successfully completing the diploma qualification will be eligible to apply for the Graduate level of membership Grad IOSH. 

Entry requirements

For entry onto the OTHM Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety qualification, learners must possess: 

Relevant NQF/QCF/RQF certificate or diploma or equivalent recognized a qualification that covers the following basic concepts within Occupational Health & Safety:

Science and Technology

Legal and regulatory systems

Workplace safety and health

Definitions of risk and risk management principles

Principles and theories of safety and health management

Occupational health and hygiene

Occupational psychology

Information technology, literacy, and numeracy

Qualifications that fulfill this requirement include:

British Safety Council Level 3 Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health

British Safety Council International Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health

NCFE IOSH Level 3 Certificate in Safety and Health for Business

NCRQ Level 6 Certificate in Applied Health and Safety

NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety

Mature learners (over 21) with practical experience of at least 2 years

The learner must be 18 years or older at the beginning of the course 

English requirements: If a learner is not from a majority English-speaking country, they must provide evidence of English language competency. For more information visit the English Language Expectations page on this website.


OTHM qualifications at RQF Level 6 represent practical knowledge, skills, capabilities, and competencies that are assessed in academic terms as being equivalent level to Bachelor’s Degrees with Honors, Bachelor’s Degrees, Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE), Graduate Diplomas and Graduate Certificates.

Qualification structure

OTHM Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety

The Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety consists of 7 mandatory units for a combined total of 60 credits for the completed qualification. 

Mandatory units: 

Health and Safety Management Principles and Policy (8 credits)

Health and Safety Management Practice (10 credits)

Risk and Incident Management (8 credits)

Promoting a Positive Health and Safety Culture (6 credits)

Maintaining a Safe Workplace Environment (12 credits)

Health and Safety Law, Regulation and Influence (8 credits)

Development of the Health and Safety Practitioner (8 credits)

Duration and delivery

The qualification is designed to be delivered over 4 months approximately for full-time study, but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time and distance and blended learning. 

The qualification is delivered face-to-face, through lectures, tutorials, seminars, distance, online by approved centers only.

Assessment and verification

All units within this qualification are internally assessed by the center and externally verified by OTHM. The qualifications are criterion referenced, based on the achievement of all the specified learning outcomes. 

To achieve a ‘pass’ for a unit, learners must provide evidence to demonstrate that they have fulfilled all the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by all assessment criteria. The judgment that the learners have successfully fulfilled the assessment criteria is made by the Assessor.

The Assessor should provide an audit trail showing how the judgment of the learners’ overall achievement has been arrived at.


Successful completion of Level 6 Occupational Health and Safety qualifications provide learners with the knowledge, understanding, and skills to be competent in a range of Occupational Health and Safety roles. Individuals who achieve the diploma qualification will be eligible to apply for the Graduate level of membership Grad IOSH.

Those eligible for Graduate membership can then undertake a period of Initial Professional Development which will require students to provide evidence of their practice skills in a skills development portfolio (IPD). At the end of this period, there will be a professional review interview. After successful completion of this IPD process, students will then be eligible for Chartered Membership of IOSH (CMIOSH).

Theme images by Jason Morrow. Powered by Blogger.